top of page
Search

My Favourite Comfort Disney Movies

I find massive comfort with Disney movies, particularly those I would watch as a kid. I rewatch them all the time. I connect to these films; I can relate to these characters, and the songs feel magical to me, and they helped me when I was a kid.


Pocahontas was made in 1995 and directed by Eric Goldberg and Mike Gabriel. When I watched this film, it made me feel special to see a woman of colour as the main character of the film. Based on the true story of Pocahontas, this gave me the light I needed in my life as a young mixed-race girl, who experienced racism from a young age. The music in this film still replays in my head because of the beautiful melody and lyrics. The story of John Smith and Pocahontas's relationship reminded me of my British/Spanish mother and British/Cuban/Caribbean father, who experienced racism just for being together. The ending gave me hope that one-day white people will accept us as they did at the end of Pocahontas, how the British people accepted their love for each other and appreciated the Native Americans.

Lilo and Stitch were made in 2002 and directed by Chris Sanders. This film was a significant aspect of my life. I could relate to Lilo. Her parents had passed away and she only had her older sister Nani to look after her. I associated with Lilo because I was moved into care multiple times and could not see my mother or father or my two siblings, my older sister and little sister. I also had a social worker, and at that time of my life, nothing was being shown about kids in care and this film was the only thing I could connect with at that time of my life and needed it the most. I saw myself in Lilo as another family of colour. I also love Lilo and Stitch's friendship and at that time of my life, I needed a Stitch.


Beauty and the Beast was made in 1991 and directed by Gary Trousdale and Kirk Wise. In my family, we all got given a Disney princess, and mine was Belle from Beauty and the Beast. I'm very much like Belle; she loves to read books, she loves her parents, and people found her odd even though she was just quiet and kept to herself, but she was also very kind and friendly, everything my mother brought me up to be. Therefore, this film resonates in my heart because my mother chose it. I love this film that much. I got the rose-covered by the glass jar tattooed on my arm and was very glad it was made.


Disney will always be in my heart, and I hope they continue to represent people of colour more in their upcoming films, like in the new films, Encanto (2021), Soul (2020) and Moana (2016) and to have those realist characters again that I connect with whole heartedly.

24 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page